Music News


YOON of WINNER and LEE CHAN HYUK of AKMU supported the first solo digital single by BANG YE DAM, the member of YG’s rookie group TREASURE.

On May 28, YG Entertainment uploaded BANG YE DAM’s digital single title poster through their official blog. The English title ‘WAYO’, which interpreted the Korean word ‘Why’ in its exact pronunciation, looked unique. The sentimental vibes of the poster and the title of the song raises curiosities on what kind of stories and hidden meanings the song contains.

Meanwhile, the writers and composers of the song also grabbed the people’s attention. YOON and LEE CHAN HYUK, the senior artists of YG who have shown amazing capabilities in writing·composing have been included in the lineup.

YOON participated in the writing·composing of ‘WAYO’, while LEE CHAN HYUK helped write the lyrics of the song. FUTURE BOUNCE, the talented producer of YG, managed the writing, composing, arrangement of the track, while Andrew Choi also helped compose the track to raise its completeness.

YG stated, “A catchy song that will addict the listeners in one listen has been created, thanks to the passionate support by senior artists, for BANG YE DAM who has been dreaming of making debut after working hard as a trainee for 7 years”. The agency added, “BANG YE DAM’s unique and unrivaled mellow vocals create a harmony with the song’s lyrics·melody with beautiful emotions”.

‘WAYO’ will be released on June 5 at 6 PM. It is part of the debut project of TREASURE, who will be active in full-scale soon. YG has previously explained, “It will be a surprise gift for the fans in June, prior to TREASURE’s debut”.

BANG YE DAM, the main vocalist of TREASURE, has appeared on ‘K-Pop Star Season 2’ back in 2012 and won second place as a 11-year old child. He then improved and worked on his music capabilities in YG for 7 years. Later, he participated in ‘YG TREASURE BOX’ and presented his amazing talents as the ‘genius vocalist’, which allowed him to be ranked at no. 1 on the vocalist position and be selected as the final member of TREASURE.

TREASURE, who has confirmed their upcoming debut in July, is a 12-member boy group composed of CHOI HYUN SUK, JIHOON, YOSHI, JUNKYU, MASHIHO, YOON JAE HYUK, ASAHI, DOYOUNG, HARUTO, PARK JEONG WOO, SO JUNG HWAN, and BANG YE DAM. The group is gathering attention as YG’s next generation boy group that will lead BIGBANG, WINNER, and iKON. The group is planning to release new songs 3~4 times from July until the end of the year.

Source: YG-Life

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s